The Beatles The Continuing Story of Bungalow Bill lyrics

This site covers the original British Beatles Albums plus analyses of the lyrics of non-album tracks.

Information on how the Beatles wrote the lyrics to their songs on The Beatles (white album) can be navigated from below the album cover.

The Beatles White Album
  • Back In The USSR
  • Dear Prudence
  • Glass Onion
  • Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da
  • Wild Honey Pie
  • The Continuing Story of Bungalow Bill
  • While My Guitar Gently Weeps
  • Happiness Is A Warm Gun
  • Martha My Dear
  • I'm So Tired
  • Blackbird
  • Piggies
  • Rocky Racoon
  • Don't Pass Me By
  • Why Don't We Do It In The Road
  • I Will
  • Julia
  • Birthday
  • Yer Blues
  • Mother Nature's Son
  • Everybody's Got Something To Hide Except Me And My Monkey
  • Sexy Sadie
  • Helter Skelter
  • Long, Long, Long
  • Revolution
  • Honey Pie
  • Savoy Truffle
  • Cry Baby Cry
  • Can You take Me Back
  • Revolution 9
  • Good Night

  • Beatles

    Find out how the lyrics to The Continuing Story of Bungalow Bill came to be written.


    Beatles Album: The Beatles AKA The White Album : Track 6

    Year: 1968

    Lyrics: Lennon, McCartney

    Length: 3.05

    The lyrics to the continuing story of bungalow bill were written by john Lennon during the time that the Beatles were in Rishikesh. During this time an American by the name of Richard Cooke the third visited his mother at the camp. John did not like Richard and portrayed him as bungalow bill in the song and describe him as being 'bullet headed'.

    During his stay in India Richard Cooke went tiger hunting on elephants, and was indeed accompanied by his mum. During the tiger hunt Richard shot a tiger between the ears.

    After shooting the tiger the Cooke's began to brag about shooting the tiger, and told all to the maharishi; John Lennon and Paul McCartney were also present at the meeting. The Maharishi was disgusted that a tiger was shot, and John had an argument with Richard in which he said that the killing of a tiger was a destroying of a life and against the principles of the Maharishi's teachings. Richard replied that if the tiger had seen them first then it would have attacked them.

    This inspired John to come up with the line 'if looks could kill, it would have been us instead of him' in the bungalow bill lyrics.

    Individual Beatles role on the continuing story of bungalow bill

    John Lennon: Lead Vocals, Acoustic guitar, organ

    Paul McCartney: Backing Vocals, Bass guitar.

    George Harrison: Backing Vocals, Acoustic guitar

    Ringo Starr: Backing Vocals, Drums, Tambourine

    Yoko Ono: Harmony Vocal

    Other: mellotron, Chorus

    Popular Beatles songs
  • Tomorrow Never Knows by the Beatles
  • Till there was you by the Beatles
  • Ticket To Ride by the Beatles
  • Please Please Me | With The Beatles | Beatles For Sale | A Hard Days Night | Help | Rubber Soul | Revolver | Sgt Pepper | Yellow Submarine | The Beatles | Abbey Road | Let It Be | Beatles Singles

    Copyright 2006 - 2023 Behind the Beatles Lyrics