The Beatles Revolution 9 lyrics

This site covers the original British Beatles Albums plus analyses of the lyrics of non-album tracks.

Information on how the Beatles wrote the lyrics to their songs on The Beatles (white album) can be navigated from below the album cover.

The Beatles White Album
  • Back In The USSR
  • Dear Prudence
  • Glass Onion
  • Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da
  • Wild Honey Pie
  • The Continuing Story of Bungalow Bill
  • While My Guitar Gently Weeps
  • Happiness Is A Warm Gun
  • Martha My Dear
  • I'm So Tired
  • Blackbird
  • Piggies
  • Rocky Racoon
  • Don't Pass Me By
  • Why Don't We Do It In The Road
  • I Will
  • Julia
  • Birthday
  • Yer Blues
  • Mother Nature's Son
  • Everybody's Got Something To Hide Except Me And My Monkey
  • Sexy Sadie
  • Helter Skelter
  • Long, Long, Long
  • Revolution
  • Honey Pie
  • Savoy Truffle
  • Cry Baby Cry
  • Can You take Me Back
  • Revolution 9
  • Good Night

  • Beatles

    Find out how the lyrics to Revolution 9 by the Beatles came to be written.


    Beatles Album: The Beatles AKA The White Album : Track 30

    Year: 1968

    Lyrics: Lennon, McCartney

    Length: 8.15

    Revolution number 9 was created by John Lennon and Yoko Ono as a bit of an art piece. It was originally the second half of the Beatles revolution song, and included recorded excerpts of revolution and other chaotic events; but the other Beatles felt that it didn't belong at the end of the revolution song as it spoilt it. So John made it into its own song and called it Revolution number 9.

    In addition to clips of revolutionary noises there are many other things that appeared on the revolution number 9 track, these include but are not limited to violins, opera, John and George speaking, a symphony orchestra. Many of these sounds and others were played backwards for the recording of the track.

    As with many of the songs on the album not all the Beatles were happy with the inclusion of the song on the album. Paul was particularly unhappy about the inclusion of revolution number 9 on the album; not because he did not like the song, but because he had been experimenting with similar techniques for years and felt he should have played a part in it.

    Individual Beatles role on Revolution 9

    John Lennon: Spoken Voice, Editing, Mixing

    Paul McCartney: Piano

    George Harrison: Spoken Voice

    Ringo Starr: Spoken Voice

    George Martin: Editing, Mixing

    Popular Beatles songs
  • Golden Slumbers by the Beatles
  • Glass Onion by the Beatles
  • Girl by the Beatles
  • Please Please Me | With The Beatles | Beatles For Sale | A Hard Days Night | Help | Rubber Soul | Revolver | Sgt Pepper | Yellow Submarine | The Beatles | Abbey Road | Let It Be | Beatles Singles

    Copyright 2006 - 2023 Behind the Beatles Lyrics