The Beatles Revolution 1 lyrics

This site covers the original British Beatles Albums plus analyses of the lyrics of non-album tracks.

Information on how the Beatles wrote the lyrics to their songs on The Beatles (white album) can be navigated from below the album cover.

The Beatles White Album
  • Back In The USSR
  • Dear Prudence
  • Glass Onion
  • Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da
  • Wild Honey Pie
  • The Continuing Story of Bungalow Bill
  • While My Guitar Gently Weeps
  • Happiness Is A Warm Gun
  • Martha My Dear
  • I'm So Tired
  • Blackbird
  • Piggies
  • Rocky Racoon
  • Don't Pass Me By
  • Why Don't We Do It In The Road
  • I Will
  • Julia
  • Birthday
  • Yer Blues
  • Mother Nature's Son
  • Everybody's Got Something To Hide Except Me And My Monkey
  • Sexy Sadie
  • Helter Skelter
  • Long, Long, Long
  • Revolution
  • Honey Pie
  • Savoy Truffle
  • Cry Baby Cry
  • Can You take Me Back
  • Revolution 9
  • Good Night

  • Beatles

    Find out how the lyrics to Revolution 1 by the Beatles came to be written.


    Beatles Album: The Beatles AKA The White Album : Track 25

    Year: 1968

    Lyrics: Lennon, McCartney

    Length: 4.13

    The lyrics to the song revolution (and revolution number 1) were written by John Lennon and were inspired by the protests (that often ended in violence) that were being carried out against the American Embassies in London and Paris.

    The Beatles revolution song itself is not pushing for a revolution but is about the people who take part in the revolution; or more to the point being pushed into a revolution either against their will, or to an extreme that they do not fully believe in. They want a change and see a revolution as being the only answer, though the end results will be much stronger than they really desire.

    John Lennon had always been the Beatles with the most interest in politics, and he would go on to record many protest songs such as luck of the Irish and give peace a chance. At the time of writing revolution John had been approached by many radical groups for financial contributions; and though he felt sympathetic to many of their ideas, he did not agree whole heatedly with all of their views and felt that he was being cornered and pressured by the revolutionary groups. The lyrics of revolution go a long way in explaining the pressure he was being put under by the groups and of his true story. Though the change in the line 'you can count be out' to you can count me out, in' in revolution number one strongly suggests that he had not fully made up his own mind on the issues at hand.

    John lennon had a strong belief in the song and wanted it to be released as a single, paul was against this has he felt that it lacked commercial appeal, and put forward his own song Hey Jude as a single. Revolution appeared as the B side to hey jude, and the version has a much quicker tempo to the one that appears on 'the beatles' album.

    Individual Beatles role on revolution 1

    John Lennon: Lead vocals, Backing vocals, Lead guitar, Acoustic guitar

    Paul McCartney: Backing Vocals, Bass guitar, Acoustic guitar, Piano

    George Harrison: Backing Vocals, Rhythm guitar

    Ringo Starr: Drums

    Other: Brass

    Popular Beatles songs
  • Golden Slumbers by the Beatles
  • Glass Onion by the Beatles
  • Girl by the Beatles
  • Please Please Me | With The Beatles | Beatles For Sale | A Hard Days Night | Help | Rubber Soul | Revolver | Sgt Pepper | Yellow Submarine | The Beatles | Abbey Road | Let It Be | Beatles Singles

    Copyright 2006 - 2023 Behind the Beatles Lyrics