The Beatles - She Said She Said lyrics

This site covers the original British Beatles Albums plus analyses of the lyrics of non-album tracks.

Information on how the Beatles wrote the lyrics to the songs on the Revolver album can be navigated from below.

  • Taxman
  • Eleanor Rigby
  • I'm Only Sleeping
  • Love You To
  • Here, There and Everywhere
  • Yellow Submarine
  • She Said She Said
  • Good Day Sunshine
  • And Your Bird Can Sing
  • For No One
  • Dr. Robert
  • I Want To tell You
  • Got To Get you Into My Life
  • Tomorrow Never Knows

  • Beatles

    Find out how the lyrics to the Beatles song She Said She Said from the album Revolver were written.


    The lyrics of She said, she said reflect a conversation that John Lennon and George Harrison had with Peter Fonda whilst they were high on LSD. This was the first time that the Beatles had purposefully taken LSD, they had previously had it slipped into a cup of tea at a party; and peter Fonda saw it as his role to guide them through their trip.

    During the LSD trip George thought he was dying, and Peter told him to relax, because he knew what it was like to be dead. John who was passing said “you’re making me feel like I’ve never been born, who put all that shit in your head”. Peter’s comment had rally upset John who was going through one of his insecure moments at the time and was having a problem dealing with the drugs. John Lennon insisted that Peter Fonda leave, and hold the video of cat Ballou, staring Peter’s Sister Jane against his head until he would leave.

    The original version of the song is very aggressive in nature, but John worked on she said she said and softened the middle eight with the addition of “when I was a boy, everything was right”.

    Popular Beatles songs
  • Eleanor Rigby by the Beatles
  • Eight Days A Week by the Beatles
  • Drive My Car by the Beatles
  • Please Please Me | With The Beatles | Beatles For Sale | A Hard Days Night | Help | Rubber Soul | Revolver | Sgt Pepper | Yellow Submarine | The Beatles | Abbey Road | Let It Be | Beatles Singles

    Copyright 2006 - 2023 Behind the Beatles Lyrics